It’s true. I wouldn’t change any of it for the world. Every now and then I have a little reminisce about it and smile. I was something of a free-spirit back then. I would sleep with guys with little or no emotional consequences. Sometimes it backfired, sometimes it didn’t and my friends always wondered how I managed to do it.

Now, I am not too far into the future being in my late 20s, but the carefree attitude and fun I had seems like a million miles away, and a lifetime ago. I had less money but more fun. Go figure!

I have friends now who are settled down, married and some even with kids. One of which has been since she was 20. I’m not jealous in the slightest as when I’m in my late 30s, I will hopefully be in the same married bliss situation as them and look back at my early 20s and think, god I had a fuck load of fun.

However I do wonder when it’s all going to happen for me. I’m 2 years away from turning 30. To me that means I should have at least found the person I’m supposed to be spending my life with right? Where the sodding hell is he? My step-mum said to me the other day that when she and my Dad watched Bridget Jones’ Diary 2 the other week, my Dad piped up with “This really makes me think about *Daughter 1*. Apparently it was the scene where she lands on the camera after jumping out of an aeroplane. I’m not sure if he thinks I have a huge arse, or just a disaster in love. Probably both.

Thing is, I compare myself to Bridget Jones’.. single, living in London, pretty brilliant job, seriously a disaster when it comes to men, and yes I have a huge arse! I guess I just hoped there was going to be a Darcy waiting for me at the end of it all. I think I’ve read one too many chick lit books. Sophie Kinsella you have a lot to answer for.

I have just been reading a post about soul mates by @singledatingdiv. I’m a hopeless romantic and live in the hope that a prince will come rescue me from my chinese for 1 and big knicker drawer. Disney you have given a lot of girls over the years a lot of false hope. I’m not a particularly religious person, but I do have faith in the fact that one day an amazing guy is going to walk into my life and sweep me off my feet.

God I sound like a right sap!!!

