Before I get started please let me begin by explaining that I do not suggest for one minute that I am perfect at spelling, punctuation and grammar. I often spell things wrong, and notice too late when something has already been sent. As such I hope this doesn’t appear patronising or in anyway as if I think I’m superior in my writing skills than others.

BUT…. and it’s a huge but, I have a huge problem with “text speak”. I’m slowly coming to accept the ‘lol’ as an over-used saying when something is remotely funny, or not in the case of some of my friends. (army-wife my best friend does this a lot).

When I’m chatting to a guy and we’re exchanging a few witty texts, whilst a quick lol at a remotely funny thing I’ve said grinds my gears a little, it’s certainly not a deal breaker. What is a deal-breaker is you replace words with numbers or change love to luv and the like. Is there any need for it. Now of course I understand when we were a little younger and using pay-as-you-go phones to text each other, we had to shorten the text as much as possible, but in the day of unlimited or a lot of texts included in tariffs, is there any need to shorten your words as much. I should hope by now that you have a contract phone and you’re not running off to the shop to top-up your phone at any given moment. A favourite dating blogger The Single Filez of mine wrote about this a while ago.

Recently my Nan blamed me being too picky on being single. And to a point I agree. I have this ideal in my head and when I date someone that doesn’t match that I dismiss them. Perhaps for the wrong reasons. However I do think my want of a man who can communicate intelligently is not something I should compromise on.

So gents, if you send me a message, be it through an online dating site, or by text after we’ve exchanged numbers and you talk in text speak. I’m afraid things just won’t go very far.

Language snobbery? Perhaps… but I think you can tell a lot about a person who writes well in a text. Although I don’t want you sounding like Charles flipping Dickens. (I’ve had that, twice). Mr Irish spoke to me as if he was a rescuing prince and I was a princess trapped in a tower.. calling me darling and sweetheart before we’ve even met, not a good thing. I’m sure there are ladies out there who love this sort of thing, but I’m not one of them. I find it a little creepy.

Perhaps my Nan is right. I am being way too picky, and actually have no idea what I want.

Anyway I’d love to hear what you think about this, am I being too picky?

